Winged fool

This is my first chance to write to you about my costume appearance at Northland Jubilee. Skye Goodfellow was well received, but my effort to play him was not, sometimes thought of as pure insanity, given temperatures as high as 89° F. What is there to dressing up as an angel bear that would make a fool like me brave such blistering temperatures?

Duhh!! Didja see the kids? I was petting and patting and hugging and giving noogies to every small fry within reach of my paws. I didn’t have to go to them. They came to me! I was the center of attention! Crazy people on YouTube risk life and limb to be the center of attention all the time! Who wouldn’t want that?

I even got invited to pose in some of the digital family photos that we offered people in the photography booth. Now the trouble with this photography booth is it’s not out in the open where the breeze can get to me and help me last a few seconds longer. I sweltered. My left eye was stinging from the sweat from my forehead. I eventually had to call timeout and go back inside to get out of costume. Too bad, though. I wanted to stay and do them all. It was major league fun.

I noticed the thin rubber sole is starting to come off of my left footpaw. And I need to look into fixing up my halo some so the stars don’t pull out so easily. I’ll have to go see Max.

Not only was Skye hot, he was also tiring. He’s a totally different character from me. He’s a praisin’, dancin’ fool, always walking with a springy step, like it’s all he can do to keep at least one foot on the ground. You would have to use an electric cattle prod to get any movement out of me in a typical Sunday service. Playing Skye wore me out after only three hours.

Why would I do it, you would ask? Because an angel teddy bear is a great idea, especially one as smiling and approachable as Skye. If God put out a suggestion box about what creature to create next, I would not hesitate to suggest the angel bear. It is such a capital idea that I feel called upon to create one myself—at least a costume in its simultude—and put it out there for the comfort and encouragement of my fellow human.

Some of you still feel that creating and quickening an angel bear is not worth risking death from heatstroke. I would have to feel sorry for you if this is your opinion. If you look at my costume and only see the “hot”, then where is your imagination? Where is it written that upon reaching age 18 you have to start checking your imagination at the door? Without imagination, my church dance team wouldn’t do nearly the work that it does. Nor would I be able to write and draw, nor would you be able to enjoy my output.

I’m glad God called me to a ministry that makes room for a few imaginary friends.

Leave a Reply

