God misses us

One of the things that really bites about having to go to work within minutes of leaving adult Bible study at my church Saturday afternoons is the fact that if I come away from the class zinged by something really profound, like I did yesterday, I have to work 8 to 9 hours, go to bed, get up and go to church the next morning, and then come home before I have any time to take up the subject again.

I’m having one of those “Whoa!” moments where I’ve been exposed to a concept around which I just can’t wrap my mind. I just found out yesterday that God misses us.

He misses us! He wants to be around us again.

Here’s the text I want you to consider, Revelation 21:1-4 (NIV):

1Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and there was no longer any sea. 2I saw the Holy City, the new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride beautifully dressed for her husband. 3And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Now the dwelling of God is with men, and he will live with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. 4He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.”

Feast your eyes on the word “Now”. At long last! Finally! The long wait is over! God gets to live with us again. That means there’s an immense happiness on God’s part, something that’s going to come through in the way He loves us.

We humans are the best thing God has ever created, more like God than anything else He has created. We’re the only thing created in God’s image, with a collaboration of the entire Trinity. Why else would God say, “Let us make man in our image, in our likeness, and let them rule over the fish of the sea and the birds of the air, over the livestock, over all the earth, and over all the creatures that move along the ground”? (Gen. 1:26, emphasis mine).

And there was nothing God loved to do better than go to earth and hang out with Adam and Eve. He has not had the immense pleasure of doing that ever since the Forbidden Fruit Incident, when the wall of sin rose up between Him and our first parents. He wants beyond all else to hook back up with the human race.

All I’m going to say is watch out! God has spent seven or so long millenia away from His most prized creation, so when New Jerusalem comes down, He’s not going to be able to contain Himself. Prepare to get smothered with hugs and kisses.

That’s the thing I can’t seem to wrap my mind around. Getting God’s arms wrapped around me in a big bear hug. I was expecting something slightly more dignified.

One thought on “God misses us

  1. *shrugs* And what’s wrong with a God who isn’t afraid to reach right up–or down, however you look at it–to His people? 😉

    Actually, the verse you quoted reminds me of one of the readings we had at Mass earlier this evening…thank God I kept last week’s church newsletter.

    Here we go, Isaiah 25:6-10a:

    “(6)On this mountain the Lord of hosts will provide for all peoples/ A feast of rich food and choice wines, juicy, rich food and choice wines.
    (7)On this mountain he will destroy the veil that veils all peoples,/ The web that is woven over all nations;
    (8)he will destroy death forever./ The Lord God will wipe away the tears from all faces;/ The reproach of his people he will remove from the whole earth; for the Lord has spoken.

    (9)On that day it will be said:/ ‘Behold our God, to whom we looked to save us!/ This is the Lord for whom we looked;/ let us rejoice and be glad that he has saved us!’
    (10)For the hand of the Lord will rest on this mountain…”

    Combined with the Gospel (Matthew 22:1-14), the priest (not one of our normal clergy) was telling us that the Lord has not only invited us, but has chosen us to join Him at the great feast He prepared for us.

    I don’t know about you, but I like a good feast, myself! 😀

Leave a Reply

