No more Nerd Herd

Call center iconYesterday, I downloaded Anti-Malware from MalwareBytes.org into my own computer and scanned with it, just to see how it works. I may need to know how to do it some day.

The reason I did this is because the ISP provider for whom my call center works discontinued their computer repair service, their counterpart to such outfits as Geek Squad, Firedog, and the fictional “Nerd Herd” from NBC-TV’s Chuck. They want to take the money they’ve been putting into that and concentrate into their digital TV and high speed Internet.

Not that I’m worried that much about it. In fact, I’m looking forward to not getting dinged on my QA scores for not referring customers to this repair outfit.

The problem I foresee is the possibility of getting the deadly combination of hard-ass Lawgiver customer and a clueless, perhaps fearful, new Internet agent who promises that I’ll clean his computer that got infected when we failed to stop viruses from reaching his computer like the salesman promised we would. Cleaning infected computers is not in my job description, but try telling that to somebody who believes backward and forward that we are now contractually obligated to give him a cleanly disinfected computer by the time he puts down his telephone.

Most of the customers I talk to on the phone are not happy campers. They don’t like the idea of having to shell out extra money to achieve the security they believe was promised them just for joining my company’s high speed internet service. Some get very upset when I tell them of this program that they still have to download into their computers. And some are very ready to hit the roof after they’ve downloaded our anti-virus software and it still gets defeated by Antivirus 2009.

Antivirus 2009 is a tough customer. I hear tell even the mighty Norton Antivirus is having their troubles with it. I’m worried about this. Suppose all the rules of the tech support game were chopped down to:

  • My infected computer is to be disinfected by the time I put down my phone
  • No sending me emails allowed
  • No passing me off to anyone else allowed
  • All the way, all by yourself
  • Anything less than total victory, and your company is fired

I don’t know if I can play by those rules.

Leave a Reply

