Late for work

Okay, the guy swore to faithfully execute the office of President of the United States. He’s the first colored man to hold the nation’s highest office, which is unprecedented.

A page from tomorrow’s history books is in the books. Now I can get some sleep after work.

Mr. Obama didn’t get sworn into office on the stroke of noon, when Mr. Bush’s term in office officially ended. He sat and listened to Itzhak Perlman, Yoyo Ma, and some other guy play a cover of “Simple Gifts”, arranged by John Williams.

That means for five minutes, this great country was un-Presidented, which is also unprecedented.

Remarkably, the thing I worried most about was sleep deprivation. I worked from midnight to 8:00 AM, went to bed at 9:00 AM leaving the TV on, and woke back up roughly 20 minutes prior to the Oath of Office. I figure I better have my clothes on and be online with Anthrochat when the magic moment came.

The one thing I didn’t like about it: Chief Justice John Roberts put on open display his inexperience in swearing in new Presidents by badly mangling the Oath. Mr. Obama had to correct him several times.

3 thoughts on “Late for work

  1. Perhaps that’s why the President and the Chief Justice went through the swearing-in. The official statement from the White House was that Barack Obama was indeed president at noon, EST, on the 20th. However, Chief Justice Roberts re-administered the oath to ensure that no one would try to challenge the legitimacy of his presidency.

    In this day and age, I’m sure someone was attempting to build a case.

    I cite The Columbus Dispatch in this reply.

  2. You read the Dispatch web page? I’m impressed. Do you read it for Columbus news, too?
    I’ll bet almost before I know it, I’ll be picking you up from Port Columbus and showing you around town.

  3. Heh-heh, actually, while I was searching the news sites for the story in question, I was looking for the most reputable-sounding source, and there was The Columbus Dispatch. That was my first time to that site. Lucky coincidence, I suppose. *chuckles*

    As for the latter scenario…it is on my “to-do” list, I confess. *whistles*

Leave a Reply

