Mad Skillz?

First off, let me give you all some bad news. The call center for whom I work has lost its contract with the major Internet provider that it serves, and that means all our jobs are going to be phased out over the next two months.

This is balanced by good news that another ISP is looking to be hiring agents in numbers equal to those shed by the first ISP.

I got some decent sleep today, I think. I should hopefully not have to lose my entire Tuesday to sleeping like I have the previous two Tuesdays. I will spend this middle of the week weekend updating my my résumé and write an application for one of the positions opened up by the new ISP.

I am going to take the unusual step of mentioning in my résumé the skills I learned in Second Life. In just three short months I have managed to do the following:

  • Create a custom avatar
  • Design and upload custom clothing for the avatar
  • Basic prim manipulation skills for building
  • Adapting slide presentations for use in Second Life
  • Learned how to speak in public

You might be wondering what things a game has to teach me for that people are willing to pay me to know. I don’t call Second Life a game. I call it a simulation. Whether or not you’re involved in a game depends on where on the grid you go.

In fact, I like what some avatar’s profile had to say concerning SL: “Sometimes a game, sometimes a task, sometimes a mirror, sometimes a mask.”

People actually conduct business here. It’s the perfect place to bring people from all over the world into one virtual room, and it beats the tar out of conventional chat rooms in that you can look at a room with people in it (that don’t necessarily have to look like people), talk verbally to them, and show them slide presentations. And it offers various entertainments that videoconferencing cannot.

What I do for my call center is probably irrelevant to the business of putting on presentations at meetings in Second Life, but it should demonstrate that if well motivated, I can learn anything, and learn it fast. I’m hoping that demonstrating that willingness to learn new ways of doing things will carry the day.

Leave a Reply

