Religion in Second Life

In my search for articles about Second Life and how it made news on the big television networks, I stumbled upon this interesting article:

NBC Nightly News: “Religious Experience”

Now that I’ve sampled churches in both Second Life and “meatspace”, I’m still convinced that there is no adequate substitute for a body of believers that meet in a brick and mortar building. I still go to Christian Assembly, in spite of the fact that it’s still a music/dancing church with very little to do for the writing/drawing member. I’d love for them to promote their web site, at least once.

As for the new congregation I’ve found, Vine Community Christian Church in Second Life, I’m highly curious about that church, too. We’re still trying to feel our way around, and invent ways to worship our Lord. I’m finding it a very fascinating exercise for my God-given problem solving skills. I can’t wait to see what will happen tonight.

I’d like to meet Mr. Cheetah Guy in Hawaiian Shorts, and try to find out from him why he thinks his SL church is the only one that seems to be accepting of him. I can’t help but wonder if there’s some brick ‘n’ mortar church out there that really dropped the ball in how they treated him.

There’s so much more to this story than the sound bites tell us.

Leave a Reply

