Blooming Schedule

I believe I mentioned a couple of posts ago about how some places have a Mad Boss. While RGIS Inventory has not yet reached lunacy in overscheduling me (no part-time job can), it does employ something else worth mentioning called the Secret Work Schedule. Its published work schedule is not worth the PDF file it’s written on. The real work schedule that I am to observe is revealed to me only on a need-to-know basis.

Here’s how it works. Last night I helped to count Dick’s Sporting Goods, a job that was not on the published work schedule. I learned of that store from an e-mail from Lisa, one of the managers. While I counted at Dick’s, Lisa came around to me and asked, “Are you working tomorrow?”

“Not to my knowledge.”

“Do you want to work tomorrow?”

That’s how I came to work at the K-mart in London, OH. And guess what? In pretty much the same way, I found out about the count at the Abercrombie & Fitch store tomorrow morning. I can’t work it, though, because I came home to find a voicemail from the U.S. Census asking me in to come in at 9:00 AM.

God, you don’t have to come up with my May rent all in one day. I still got a few.

Leave a Reply

