Disruptive job

So far, I’m liking what I see of the Enumerator job I will be doing for the U.S. Census. It promises to pay me very well, well enough to put all my car and utility payments back on track by the time it ends at the end of June.

But it’s honking getting in the way of everything!

A recruiter for Anu Resources in Dublin was unable to sell me to one of his clients because I couldn’t get free from my U.S. Census training to interview for a job in that rigid little 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM on April 28 window they wanted.

Another recruiter from Kforce Staffing left me a voicemail and e-mail telling me of a job opportunity that just materialized out of nowhere and no doubt needed me delivered to somebody’s doorstep before the work week was out.

Two RGIS inventories for tomorrow and Friday in downtown Columbus are going to be three workers short because, in part, to me being unable to show up at 9:00 AM. At this rate, I’m going to leave the Census at the end of June feeling I don’t deserve to be with RGIS because I wasn’t there at the end of April when they desperately needed me.

So how do my comfort myself amidst this king of guilt trips and all this wondering about what might’ve been? I remind myself that my #1 job is Writer of Large Checks, and I’m sick and tired of not being able to do that one.

Leave a Reply

