Logistics Training

You’ll have to forgive me. I usually take time to sort new developments in my life out and portray them in this blog in a neat and polished way. That’s when things start to happen bang-bang kind of fast.

I was still hacking and coughing yesterday morning. With great reluctance I was going to allow myself another day of flu medicine and bed rest.

Then Joe from JobLeaders called me , got my cell number to give to the Workforce Development building at Columbus State Community College, and later they called up to ask if I was still interested in the free Logistics classes they were offering with job placement afterwards. I said yes. They called me down to their place for a battery of skills tests.

As it turns out, pending these tests and the drug test I go out to take later today, I’ve been accepted into the Logistics course. At the very least, I have something to get out of bed to go do for the next two weeks. After that, I will be well qualified to go out and find a job in the rapidly growing logistics industry.

Logistics, for the uninitiated, is the art of getting goods from point A to point B. Could be a little as getting stuff from your loading dock to your production line, or it could be as big as getting stuff from your production line to somebody else’s loading dock, across the country.

I wasn’t expecting these classes to happen for another couple of weeks, but according to Melissa Shaid, whom I talked to yesterday, the factories needing the help need it in time for the upcoming holiday season. And after the holiday season, they expect to keep 75% of their employees.

Hmm. A 3 out of 4 chance of keeping one’s job permanently? I like those odds. And thanks to some economic stimulus money put out by our government, I get a stipend of a few extra hundred dollars to take this training (though I am told I should not expect it before Sept. 30).

This does qualify as light at the end of the tunnel. Please continue to be in prayer for me.

Leave a Reply

